Medic Relief Pty Ltd – ABN 72 609 108 376 – GDPR PRIVACY RIGHTS

The General Data Protection Regulation or GDPR gives citizens of the European Economic Area (EEA) certain rights when you use services that process personal data. In order to allow you to exercise these rights, MedicRelief made changes so you can now better control your data on the app.

Before we elaborate how you can exercise your GDPR rights, we want to remind you of the additional rights MedicRelief users enjoy just by being MedicRelief users…

The right to private and secure video calls

The MedicRelief standard: Only doctors involved in your medical care have access to your medical information and your video calls. No one else can watch, read or listen to any of your private calls because all video calls are protected by end-to-end encryption by default. On MedicRelief it is automatically in place from as soon as you start saving personal medical information or making calls with the app without any need for you to turn on your encryption settings. MedicRelief does not sell your medical information, simply because your doctor cannot provide access to your private medical information or video calls without your permission.

The right to delete video calls

MedicRelief lets you request to delete any past video calls you’ve made for both yourself and the doctors you have made the call with. This means whichever video call you decided to delete will no longer appear on your device or on your doctor’s device once it has been deleted, even if they have already seen it. You don’t even have to worry about how long it’s been since you have made the call since you can delete at any time. Please note that, due to medico-legal reasons, although you may request to delete your video call, we may be required (by law or otherwise) to keep this information and not delete it (or to keep this information for a certain time, in which case we will comply with your deletion request only after we have fulfilled such requirements). When we fulfil your deletion request and delete your video call, it will be deleted from the entire database including archives, however, we may still retain Anonymous Information about your use of our services. 

The right to restrict your medical information available to your treating doctor

When you have something extra sensitive to say, we allow you to restrict access to the specific part of your medical history that you would like to be hidden from the doctor you are about to make the call with. You can tailor your medical information available to each and every video call to any doctor before you start your call. Each and every hidden medical information will automatically remain hidden from all future calls until it has been released by you again. Each video call also have their own inbuilt access protection – healthcare professionals at MedicRelief cannot access your video calls without your permission, and when someone access your medical information, you will receive a notification on the app when it occurred, who it is, what was accessed and why it was accessed.

And let’s not forget about the GDPR…

The right to be informed

MedicRelief’s privacy policy describes our practices in detail using simple language. Everything you need to know is here. If you have more questions, feel free to contact our administrative team.

The right of access

Read our privacy policy for details about your medical information and data processed by us. Control and restrict access to this data by changing the privacy settings in your MedicRelief app on your mobile device. Please don’t hesitate to contact us if you have further questions.

Children under age 18.

We do not knowingly allow individuals under the age 18 to create Accounts that allow access to our app. Paediatric-level care will be supported in the future and this Privacy Policy will reflect the changes when we begin video calls with children under 18 and they must be accompanied by their adult parent or guardian.

The right to object

On top of the ability to opt out of processing by changing your settings, you can object to the processing of certain forms of data by contacting our support. Complete this online form and explain your special circumstances. If you receive emails from us, you can always opt out on the bottom of the email, or by contacting our administrative team.

The right to appeal automated decisions and profiling

We may make an automated decision to block a user, in case we suspect this user is using our services for illegal acts or acts that violate our terms of use. If you believe that your account was unlawfully blocked, you can contact our administrative team.

The right to restrict processing

We allow you to opt out of certain processing of your data by using the MedicRelief privacy settings on your mobile device. You can decide which processing operations you want to opt-out of. You can also change the settings on your mobile device operating system at any time to prevent us gaining access to certain data such as your accurate location – but this may negatively impact on your safety and user experience.

The right to rectification

If you believe we have the wrong data about you, or that your data is incomplete, feel free to change it at any time through the profile and medical history settings on your MedicRelief app on your mobile device. Please contact us if you can’t find what you are looking for.

The right to data portability

We have created a request your data button in MedicRelief’s privacy settings on your mobile device to make a simple way for you to access the data connected to your account. Once it is ready, you will receive a file from MedicRelief containing this data.

The right to download and keep your medical information and video calls as your own

MedicRelief allows you to download and keep your medical information and video calls as your own. Accept in cases involved with medico-legal litigations or required by law, you can then choose to individually remove each and every one of your medical information and video calls we have of you during the downloading process. Each and every one of your medical information and past video calls will be completely deleted from our servers after each healthcare professional(s) previously involved in your care has reviewed and approved the deletion of the combined information by all parties.

The right to erasure

We have made it easy for you to request the deletion of your medical information and call history data on the app, while continuing to use the app. Simply select the individual medical information or video calls and tap on the “delete your data” option under each of their settings. We will delete the data which we are not otherwise required to keep or is necessary for the provision of the service. And no need to worry – deleting your data will eventually result in complete deletion of all your information from our servers, our archives and your phone, unless required by law.

NOTE: When you deactivate your MedicRelief account, all your data including your medical history and calls are automatically deleted from your devices and subsequently from our servers after each healthcare professional(s) previously involved in your care has reviewed and approved the deletion of the combined information by all parties.

For any questions or notice, please contact us at:

MedicRelief Pty Ltd – ABN: 72 609 108 376

Email: admin@medicrelief.com

Last update: 11 June 2018